Tags

,

 

Sometimes I feel I am in Limbo as I walk my path asking myself tirelessly  am I on the right track why do I feel lost most times?…but from experience finding my true path is not about searching, it’s about doing away with all the preconceived ideas of what I think I should be… and really allowing what is meant to be.

the path image

It is about following my heart, my inner GPS. What feels alive to me, and doing my best, in every moment.

But I normally chase for clarity… obsessing daily, wanting to know where I am going, constantly questioning my identity.

I look for concrete things to grab onto like a plan, an identity, outside approval or confirmation that I am good enough.

But guess what none of these things are actually relevant. What is really important in this whole charade is the willingness to take one step at a time towards what feels most alive to me.

By letting go of trying to know what’s going on, I became truly free. Realizing that there is only the act of living life one moment at a time. Everything else is a figment of my imagination.

While there is no formula to uncovering my path, there are common elements. Its about letting life figure itself out… my purpose is already within me… All I need to do is to get out of the way and watch events unfold.  Just like birds know when to fly south.

So how do I follow my inner GPS and go to where my heart feels most alive?

1. Stop the Search

Call off the dogs yes I shout this from the rooftops “CALL OFF THE DOGS!!!!!!” stop searching for that special path… the right way.

Life is not something my mind can grasp. Speculation is possible. Certainty is not.

As I relax, I begin to notice that I have an inner GPS working for me. Feelings; nudges and intuition are at my beck and call. The sad thing is that overthinking, worrying, or trying to figure things out and those signals are drowned out in a sea of frustration.  It may feel like life will fall apart if I stop trying to control but I have found the exact opposite to be true

As Rumi once said:

Don’t worry that your life is turning upside down. How do you know that the side you are used to is better than the one to come?

I don’t know what is going to happen. I don’t know what the future holds. So I might as well relax.

2. Hmmm use what I have

I noticed a certain sense of urgency to be a success, focusing more on destinations, end goals.. Forgetting that life is a process a journey

To yearn for an achievement is to yearn for an artificial sweetener. It may taste sweet at first, but it has no substance.

Instead of thinking of what I don’t have, focus on what I can do with what I have. Focus on right here, right now..

Remember, it’s not up to me to figure out where I am going. It’s up to me to follow my heart, my GPS.

Birds do not worry when they fly. They simply fly.

3. Discard media

Media bombards me daily on what success looks like.  I am programmed by TV, case studies, culture, blogs, and society in general.

However, my path has nothing to do with what people have done. I am me, this is my life, my path.

The sooner I discard the media in my head, the sooner I can start accepting where I am.

This is not about burying my head in the sand. This is about stepping out of my head, and into reality.

It is only when I start living in the present moment that I can move forward.

The only thing that matters is following what makes my heart sing.  And I do that by starting from where I am and with what I have.

4. But surely I must plan.

This is not about discarding thinking altogether, thinking that isn’t useful.

I try and show up every day in my life with the intention to be my best and do the best I know how… without expecting life to go a certain way. Having goals, dreams, aspiring and taking purposeful action, but detaching from what life must look like. To force myself  will only exhaust me.  To try to control will only depress me.  I  Follow my heart. I  Follow my excitement.

My path is already here. No searching is needed. Only a recalibration of where I get my marching orders.

So what have I learnt?

To uncover my path in life, dive into this moment. Discard assumptions, expectations,outside programming and my belief system. This has never been about finding anything, but about noticing that I have everything I need to take the next baby step. There is no rush. No need to quit my job, to be famous, or to be successful. Accept where I am. Work with what I have. And listen to what feels alive, magnetic, exciting, fascinating. Start my journey. Do what I can. Drop all expectations, because I do not know where life will take me.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

