Tags

,

Please take time to answer any of these questions and see if you have the tendencies of being a love addict…

  1. I repeatedly fall into hurtful, destructive relationships.
    Yes __ No __
  2. I typically fall in love, get crushes on, or obsess on unavailable/avoidant individuals.
    Yes __ No __
  3. I tend to rush into love relationships too quickly without truly getting to know my partner.
    Yes __ No __
  4. I get stuck in relationships that aren’t going anywhere.
    Yes __ No __
  5. I tend to fall for partners who cannot or will not love me in return.
    Yes __ No __
  6. I let fantasies take the place of real relationships.
    Yes __ No __
  7. I have a great fear of being alone.
    Yes __ No __
    love addiction
  8. I feel lonely and unhappy when I am not in a relationship (single).
    Yes __ No __
  9. I crave intensity in relationships while fearing true intimacy/little sharing of real substance.
    Yes __ No __
  10. When I love someone, I fear he/she will find someone better than me.
    Yes __ No __
  11. I panic at the thought of my partner not loving me; and eventually ‘abandoning’ me.
    Yes __ No __
  12. I become so preoccupied in fulfilling the expectations of my partner that I lose touch with my own feelings.
    Yes __ No __
  13. I often need constant approval and reassurance from my partner to feel secure and good about myself.
    Yes __ No __
  14. I tend to use a love relationship to help me feel alive, worthy, and valuable.
    Yes __ No __
  15. I tend to compromise my own values and integrity to avoid being alone; left or abandoned.
    Yes __ No __
  16. I seem to always fall for relationship partners who are Narcissistic or Grandiose (“It’s all about him/or her”).
    Yes __ No __
  17. I can often be demanding; suffocating and smothering my partner in relationships.
    Yes __ No __
  18. I have difficulty letting go of a romantic relationship as I feel I cannot survive without him or her; because it is too painful to end it; even if I know he/she is bad for me.
    Yes __ No __
  19. I tend to use fantasy in place of true love and intimacy.
    Yes __ No __
  20. I will say anything, do anything, and suffer anything to avoid being alone?
    Yes __ No __
  21. I crave love/intimacy/closeness, but run from (sabotage) it at the same time.
    Yes __ No __
  22. My relationships feel like a roller coaster of highs & lows (mostly lows) with an anxiety ridden push-pull dynamic.
    Yes __ No __
  23. I believe to love is to have extreme chemistry, passion, or high intensity in a relationship.
    Yes __ No __
  24. I often tolerate intolerable or unacceptable behaviors in relationships.
    Yes __ No __
  25. I tend to minimize or ignore obvious “red flags” of a potential relationship partner (i.e., addictions, unhealthy attitudes, past relationship patterns, destructive behaviors) and only see what I want to see in him/her.
    Yes __ No __
  26. I have difficulty with loving myself and need constant validation from my partner to feel worthy.
    Yes __ No __
  27. I have difficulty setting appropriate boundaries in relationships.
    Yes __ No __
  28. I have difficulty taking care of my own needs and wants and place my partners needs and wants  over my own.
    Yes __ No __
  29. I tend to idealize my partner; put him/her on a pedestal; see them as stronger or “better than,” and me as weaker and “less-than.”
    Yes __ No __
  30. Despite evidence, I often tell myself my relationship will get better; that my partner will be like he or she was in the beginning.
    Yes __ No __
  31. I tend to give too much, do too much for my partner while receiving less and less.
    Yes __ No __
  32. I often take on full responsibility for problems in my relationships; or I hold my partner fully responsible for all the problems in the relationship.
    Yes __ No __
  33. I often try to change, convince, or control my partner so they will fulfill my fantasy of what I want him/her to be.
    Yes __ No __
  34. I tend to give up or disregard personal goals, likes, values, needs/wants while placing all my focus on my relationship.
    Yes __ No __
  35. During a breakup or divorce, I tend to experience intense withdrawal symptoms (i.e., obsession, loneliness, despair, depression, loss of identity; desperate need to reestablish contact ex partner for relief).
    Yes __ No __* If you answered Yes to at least five of these statements, you likely have problems with love addiction and may be a love addict. 

