Am I my name , Am I my job, Am I my status, Am I my age…. who Am I?

who im i

What defines me I wonder?

What is my true essence, what resonates with me, if I am asked about myself what should be my reference point…?

In our society, beauty is defined by supermodels, success is defined by wealth, fame is defined by how many followers you have on social media a sad reality…

We are all faced with many messages about whom we are or who we should be

Should I start with my name, my job, my status my age or should I start with something much more deeper… my true essence

Does being define who you are or doing, are my roles in life defining my true worth?

What I am being and what I am doing are 2 different things…

So how can I define myself….. What constitutes the real me?  my authentic self an esoteric idea? My true essence… I call it

These are my passions, my skills, my dreams, my talents, my values… these are rooted in my core being they are within me and make me much bigger than my roles and relationships I have ascribed to myself.. My roles are labelled and if I choose to define myself by them I am only limiting my authentic self…

Our soul’s lives in anguish when we live our lives through our inherited roles pushed upon us by our families, society, peer groups, media and so on….

If I am my job, my country my status then I am putting my trust on a broken compass I am living a life that does not resonate with me… I will be living a fictional one….

So I go back to the same question who am I?

“I’m a business owner.”  “I’m Zachary’s mom.” “I’m a life coach.” These roles and relationships are important, but they are what I do, not who I am.

I define myself by my true essence this can be found within me. It is the part of me not defined by my job, function or role. It is the composite of all my skills, talents and wisdom. It is all of the things that are uniquely mine and need expression, rather than what I believe I am supposed to be and do… that is who I truly am.

 

 

 

 

//

